Ever feel like you want to cut your arms off?

Standard

Ho. Lee. Crap. So today I decided to sand my six apple crates. I got them at an antique mall cheap, and I’m going to make this:

Coffee table! :’D

The other two crates will be used to make an end table. None of them will be permanently fastened, that way I can rearrange them if I want, as well as use them for storage and transport during moving. My crates will be stained darker, and the insides are going to be painted in greens, yellows, and turquoise. Let me tell you, I’m excited about this project. There will be a whole post about it once I finish!

But, so, the sanding. I decided to get working on them so that I can at least stain before going back to school, even if I don’t get to painting. I dragged them outside (in the 40ish degree, but sunny, weather) and got to work. It took me about two hours, but I get them done! They look great, and I decided to hold off on staining since it was getting late. I went in, sat around for a bit, ate dinner, and then realized…my arms hurt.

Holy. Crap. Do they hurt. Not, like, nomal post-exercise hurt, but like I-want-to-rip-my-arms-off-to-stop-the-agony hurt. This has only happened to me once before, my sophomore year after I had worked out on the bike. That time it was my legs, and I spent several hours in my dorm room crying (I almost never cry from pain) and alternating between laying down and limping around, unable to keep my legs still. My roommates were out studying, and I ended up calling my doctor at like one in the morning, trying to figure out what to do. This time it’s just as bad.

I realized, though, that this is the first time that I’ve done any sort of strenuous exercise since my doctor cut my Lyrica back. I’m already seeing the impossible dilemma — memory or pain? Do I decrease my meds and get my memory back, but have increased pain levels, or to I go back up and have more memory problems, but less pain? Or do I try a different medication entirely?  This is what I was afraid of what she first reduced it, and now I’m seeing my fears come to life.

An extremely hot bath didn’t do anything for the pain, really (although it was nice — especially once I realized that if I just put my Nook in a bag, I could still read in the tub, even with my arms pretty much submerged. Score!), and I know I’m not going to be able to sleep tonight with it like this. I’m strongly considering taking some Lortab that my sister got from when she had tonsillitis (which, okay, can we talk about this for a minute? I’m in pain pretty much 24/7, and I get almost unbearable flare-ups, and I can’t get anything stronger than ibuprofen, and she has a bit of tonsillitis, goes to the ER, and they give her narcotics. Wut.). I did that once before, after a pelvic floor PT session when all of my muscles were spasming and I could barely move. It sure zaps the pain, but it makes me feel a bit loopy, and then ill a few hours later. But even that seems like a good trade-off right now. Ugh.

Oh, and quick update on my sports medicine/PT visit. Went today for PT. It was kind of odd. He did some stuff with me, had me do a few things to assess range of motion, and then gave me some exercises and was like “Make another appointment if you think you’ll need it!” What? I mean, I guess I’ve never had limb-related physical therapy before, but aren’t you supposed to meet more than…once? I’m going to do all the exercises, but I’m not sure how much good they’ll do, especially when I’m not getting at least some feedback about if I’m doing them right, etc. I guess we’ll see, though.

Anyway, hopefully I’ll be able to get this pain under control so that I can get to sleep tonight!

Leave a Reply

