Closure

Standard

Well, the reunion today was hard. I almost got upset a few times on the way over, but I’m so glad that I went. I got to see all of my favorite attendees, get pictures with them, and exchange addresses with a few so that we can write letters. There were many awkward moments when I was asked “Are you coming this summer?” and I didn’t know how to answer and I didn’t want to lie. I told people that I had to see, as I still didn’t know what was going on with summer classes. I felt horrible for lying to some of the attendees.

The two taking over the program barely acknowledged me, which I was kind of okay with because it eliminated some awkwardness. I just kind of avoided them and hung out with those who came. But I’m happy that I went, as it gave me a lot of closure. I’m more at peace now with my decision not to continue with the program, and I’m glad that I got to see people one last time. Hopefully I’ll find some other great opportunities this summer and will be able to move on for real.

2 responses »

  1. What a mature decision to put your hurt aside and attend the reunion. It makes you a better person than some of the people involved with the decision to yank you from running the program..and after all your hard work. Good job!

  2. Thank you ^^ I thought it was a bit more selfish than mature, lol, as really I just wanted to see people one last time. But I’m glad that I went because a few of them told me that they had been worried that I wouldn’t come, so that made me feel a bit better. And I actually feel bad for the previous director and the two taking over, as they were put in a really difficult position. There was really no good way to handle it, since it looks like the church made the final decision that I was not to be involved and then left them to deal with the aftermath. I’m not really mad at them, but there were definitely better ways to handle it. They’re young, though, and need more experience for these types of situations, but hopefully they’ll do a good job of keeping the program running.

Leave a Reply

