Slowly but surely getting healthier!

Standard

Yay! I graduated physical therapy today! I even have a t-shirt to prove it! I’ve spent the past eight weeks going every Friday to try and fix my pelvic pain. Before any of this started, I had never heard of a pelvic floor physical therapist. When I finally did hear of them, I was like “Ew, that sounds awful and painful.” Guys. It’s not. If you have any sort of pelvic pain, find out if seeing one would help you. I went as a last resort (after CT scans, multiple internal and external ultrasounds, x-rays, blood tests, allergy tests, a colonoscopy, an upper GI endoscopy, a laparoscopy, and about seven different doctors) and found out that all my pelvic pain probably stemmed from one little thing — a rotated pelvis.

So, fun story. Some friends and I went on a trip for school to St. Louis in my senior year. While there, we decided (like the very mature almost-adults we were) to roll down the massive hill at the art museum. I rolled down and thought nothing of it afterwards except to fondly remember how one of the guys somersaulted the entire way down (it was legitimately awesome). The pelvic pain started a day or two later. Fast-forward to my first PT visit. The left side of my pelvis was rotated posteriorly, probably from that roll. So all of my muscles had to work to adjust to this unnatural position. This probably caused all of the spasms in my pelvic floor, and thus my pelvic pain. It’s taken eight weeks, but we’ve finally got my pelvis back to its natural position, through internal muscle releases, ultrasounds on my glutes, and corrections to force my pelvis back into its natural position. It’ll probably always be loose, and might rotate a bit if I step off a curb funny or jar it a lot in any way, but I now have a bunch of exercises and corrections I can do if it starts to rotate back again.

It amazes me that I went through four years of invasive tests and procedures before anyone even suggested that, hey, it might just be something with my muscles and not some horrible disease or internal deformity. Shouldn’t musculoskeletal issues be the first thing physicians rule out, since it’s the easiest to do and the least dire of diagnoses? I’m annoyed at all of my previous doctors for not thinking of this earlier, but at least someone did  suggest it (my chiropractor, actually, and then all of the others followed suit) and I was able to get help. I was terrified of going to a pelvic floor PT, and of what the visits might entail, but it really was actually nothing. My PT was understanding, knowledgeable, very conscious of my worries and fears, and just amazing overall. She made an uncomfortable situation something that was completely fine and not awkward at all. Girls (and guys, I guess — you can have pelvic floor problems, too!), don’t be afraid to find out about a pelvic floor PT if you have pelvic pain issues. It might help you more than you could imagine! It’s uncomfortable, and sometimes hard, but it’s worth it. I’m beyond happy that I finally went and pushed myself through it.

Hopefully pelvic pain will bother me no more! :’D

Leave a Reply

